19 Comments
author

I use Focus for Mac a few times a week. It blocks my email and social media on my laptop. I find it's more of a work cue than a brick wall. I turn it on to remind myself of my focus for that hour. It's a way of mentally directing myself to stop puttering and write.

Expand full comment
Jun 17Liked by Sarina B.

I just started using Brain FM. You choose what you want--focus, creativity, relaxation, etc. and it selects background music for you. I find that after a minute or two, I no longer really "hear" the music but I don't hear any of the noises around me and I am able to focus much better.

Expand full comment
Jun 17Liked by Sarina B.

I need silence when I'm writing.

Expand full comment
author
Jun 17Author

I sometimes use Forest/ You plant a "tree" and set a timer, and if you look at the phone while the tree is growing, the tree... dies. It's remarkable how many times I don't even realize I'm picking up my phone and do it anyway (you get a warning before you "kill" the "tree"). I don't really drift around on the laptop--it's the phone that's the issue!

Expand full comment

No apps, just a regular meditation routine to help develop concentration. I like to write in silence because I spend a lot of time trying to visualize scenes and a character's inner experience, and that doesn't work very well with outer stimulus.

Expand full comment

I have Freedom on my PC and my phone - it turns off distracting websites during my maunscript time blocks in the morning, and all the social media at night before I got to bed.

When I'm writing, I usually listen to an Alpha Waves playlist on Spotify to help my focus.

Expand full comment

Yes to Alpha Waves!

Expand full comment

No apps but I listen to either light classic music or soothing music… no lyrics.

Expand full comment

Lately, I've been pulling up green noise to block out sound. I find it keeps me from getting distracted even when there's no other sound going on. And I always set timers. I always find it easier to write when I know I'll make myself stop in an hour.

Expand full comment

I just started using habit-rabbit - it has reminders, a timer built in and gamification element that keeps me motivated. Sometimes my days get too hectic to carve out that writing space. Having a virtual bunny's health and happiness depend on me sticking to my goals has proven helpful.

I have in the past also used various tools to disable internet access by either black- or whitelisting, but my projects currently need to much research to make that a productive rather than restrictive tool.

Expand full comment

I use LlamaLife to help steer my day, focus my attention while writing, and limit my time when researching/reading. It's designed for those who need assistance with attentional regulation (and it's kind of fun).

If its little timer and reminder chimes and nature sounds accompaniment aren't enough, I'll go hide with earbuds and a curated selection of writing music to shift my energy level and shut out the world. But that's not a specific app. Oops.

Expand full comment

I use Forest. You set a time and a tree (or trees) grow. If you quit early or use your phone (which is where I run the app) your tree dies. Over time you create a forest. You can select what sort of trees. My kids in college use this as Do I, as a touch point.

Expand full comment

When the muse comes upon me I have to drop whatever I'm doing, grab a pen, laptop or computer and write as she whispers and graces me with blessed thoughts and words. No questions no editing just write. Plenty of time later for rewrites though most of the time not nessary. Lvbop

Expand full comment

I just use a 40 Hz playlist on Spotify - there are plenty of them to try :)

Expand full comment

None. I don't use a phone, and have analog options for concentration.

Expand full comment

Freedom App (which someone recommended on the #AmWriting FB group). I did a free trial at first and ended up buying it during a big sale recently.

Expand full comment

Me too! I love it.

Expand full comment

I use Minimalist Phone which keeps me from doom scrolling

Expand full comment

Pomodoro timer plus Power Hour strategy (thank you Gretchen Rubin!).

Expand full comment