56 Comments
author

Revising one today!

Expand full comment
Mar 4Liked by KJ, Sarina B., Jennie Nash

Me! First time novelist. It's been 18 months. I live in a can of alphabet soup.

Expand full comment
Mar 4Liked by KJ, Jennie Nash

Hi! My second novel, THE SINGING STICK, will be out in September. Just finished the work with my editor.

Expand full comment
Mar 4Liked by Jennie Nash

In the midst of my first. Enjoying it very much, but concerned it’s taking me weirdly long to get first draft complete.

Expand full comment
Mar 4Liked by Sarina B., Jennie Nash

Me! I've been working on it since December 2022.

Expand full comment

I’m writing a sequel to my first novel.

amzn.to/3GdoNsH

Expand full comment

Winter in Vacation land, second edition.

Expand full comment
author
Mar 5Author

That makes it sound like I draft really fast and I do NOT!! This is the end of a long process of drafting and re-outlining and throwing things away. I just know I can get that far that fast bc I’ve pre-written and I know where I am going. I’ll just jam the final scenes along willy nilly and then expand them if they turn out to work.

Expand full comment
author
Mar 5Author

I promised my agent a draft (that includes a lot of lines like “beach description TK) by… SUNDAY! I have the final third to draft but I have already written it once differently and I know what happens. I think.

Expand full comment

Me! First time. I am supposed to be telling my husband things like projected finishing dates and how much of it is done and I just cannot seem to explain to him that I am on a strange journey in a land I don’t know without a map and I have only my own willpower to push through and how am I supposed to know what “done” means?!?

Expand full comment

I am working on my first novel. It’s a mystery and I’m about halfway through. I have another, full time job and have not been in a good daily habit of wiring lately. Anyone else find themselves procrastinating? Once I’m into my writing session, I always have fun, but I put off beginning it and am then frustrated for not doing it. I want to just get first draft done!

Expand full comment

My novel has been in the works for 25 years, but I recently started publishing it as a serialized novel on Substack and I haven't regretted that step one second. Aside from the thought of traditional publishing, query letters, finding readers, etc making my blood run cold, posting it on Substack fits my brain so much better. The 7th chapter posts today!

Expand full comment

Revising. Another one is drafted. Outlining two more.

Expand full comment

Working on my first novel! I. Am. Terrified! I have written poetry, a book proposal for a non-fiction book (it is marinating), poetry, a dissertation, and a handful of academic articles/book chapters. None of those pieces have terrified me as much as this novel! Eek!

Expand full comment

I'm working on a tennis rom-com! Although it's becoming less and less "com" the more I write, so it could end up being more contemporary and emotional than it is funny. We'll see how it continues to take shape!

Expand full comment

Zero drafting book3 under contract, then onto pitch/outline for the option!

Expand full comment

What great timing! I’m starting a rewrite today.

Expand full comment

Over here too. Plugging away slowly but surely.

Expand full comment

Raising my hand...

Expand full comment

Me. Working on it when I have a few minutes. Having fun, but it will take me a long time to get my first draft. Enjoying the process. My income doesn’t depend on it, thank goodness! lol

Expand full comment

Revising a draft I wrote 17 years ago, before I started a family, and hoping to have more time to work on it when my kid leaves for college this fall.

Expand full comment

Got one at the editor’s right now and in the last 10-15% of the other!

Expand full comment

Fiddling with a first draft blueprint

Expand full comment

While querying the one I spent the last two years working on, I've started a new one this year. And remembering how different drafting is from revising. Still working on building those muscles back up!

Expand full comment

I am. I just completed Chapter 5 of the sequel to my first novel, Scout of the Oregon Trail. My writer's group is going to critique it tonight.

Expand full comment

Stuck on chapter 17

Expand full comment

I am on the last few chapters of mine!

Expand full comment

Revising my third, planning my fourth. Hoping desperately that one of them will sell this time.

Expand full comment

55,000? Okay- that will be my target to shoot for...

Expand full comment

(raises hand)

Expand full comment

In planning stages for me next series while my current book is with my editor

Expand full comment

Me! Finished the first and second drafts and doing a developmental edit. First novel.

Expand full comment

Define "a novel"...

Expand full comment

Me. Just in outline & plotting (I am a plantser) for a cozy mystery. Will get my butt in chair for words soon.

Expand full comment

In that direction, confounded by conflicting commitments. This morning in particular I find myself resenting commitments that otherwise feed me. 'Tis a conundrum.

Expand full comment

The Rift of Lions, book 8 in Fox Argall Mysteries.

Expand full comment