35 Comments
author
Feb 26Author

Don’t write the boring parts!!! That was Gretchen Rubin, somehow (I don’t know exactly how bc she doesn’t usually write about writing). But the gist was, if you’re bored writing a scene it will be boring to read so either gloss by it (we went to the state fair and it was sticky and sweet and loud and awesome and then…) or just TK it and see if you even need it later!

Expand full comment

the two most engaging powers of an author are to make new things familiar

and familiar things new.

S. Johnson

Expand full comment

The first line of the book should make a promise... and the rest of the book should keep that promise.

Expand full comment
author

Ohhh who said that?

Expand full comment

Pat Carr. She used to teach at the International Women's Writers Guild summer conference. I learned *so* much from her, but this is one of the top pieces of wisdom I always carry - and always put to use in my books.

Expand full comment
author

It's awesome!

Expand full comment

That puts it succinctly.

Expand full comment

Not to take rejections personally- they're just business.

Expand full comment
author
Feb 26Author

And also—you don’t know ANYTHING about the circs maybe this person is about to quit or just took something super similar or really really hates stories about clowns.

Expand full comment

If it's an essay, cut the first two paragraphs and see what it looks like without them. I learned from my sister-in-law who is a journalist that these run-ups are called 'throat clearing' in her world, and I just love that. I did it just last week in an essay that got published without edits!

Expand full comment

Exactly. I know as much about their circumstances as they do about mine.

Expand full comment

If you’re struggling, just write absolutely anything at all. Maybe you can fix it. But you can’t edit a blank page.

Expand full comment
author

Preach!

Expand full comment

it was from Rachel Aaron in her 2K to 10K book- I can get out of my head and get words on the page by writing "and then they have an argument, why did you take the money, I didn't, where is it then... and then she checks his jacket, it's there, cut to her walking home..." and then go back and "word it out," so to speak. I know you work this way too KJ. It helps me not to feel like the idea has to be in finished literary form from the get-go

Expand full comment
author

I love that Rachel Aaron book so much. My motivation for writing the original Blueprint book was that I wanted to self publish something as useful and short and awesome as Aaron's book.

Expand full comment

write! you can't be a writer without writing.

Expand full comment
author

Ha -- so true!

Expand full comment

It’s okay to follow what interests you and it’s okay to drop it like a hot potato even if you’ve made yourself into a quasi expert.

Expand full comment

In grad school, I learned from Colum McCann (who might have gotten it from someone else) that people talk away from what they mean. Helps me avoid dialogue that’s too on-the-nose.

Expand full comment

My girlfriend who is a writer, @KellyGraceThomas, told me to aim for 100 rejections per year that way they don't take you by surprise each time and properly prepares you psychologically for the writer's life because this is what it takes to get those acceptances! And that way you pleasantly surprised by the W's instead of taking them for granted :)

Expand full comment
author

Such good advice!

Expand full comment

My favorite two pieces of writing advice are: The first draft's only job is to exist—which goes hand in hand with one of my favorite quotes from Jodi Picoult—you can edit a bad page, but you can't edit a blank page.

Another favorite piece of advice I share often came from Jennie Nash. It's just two words: And so? I have it written on a post-it note on my monitor, and it's a reminder that everything you put on the page should have a purpose for being there.

Expand full comment

Don't be afraid to go where your imagination wants to take you. - Ruth Behar

Expand full comment

Just get it out. Write it, type it, speak it, dream it, but get it out of your head and into some other form.

Expand full comment

The best writing advice I ever got was from Julie Lythcott-Haims, who told me "memoir is an act of service." This advice kept me going when I wanted to throw in the towel on the whole thing...

Expand full comment
author

YAAAASSSS. I LOVE this! Every book is an act of service! Sometimes writers need something short and sweet and easy with a happy ending and something they need something dense and hard and in your face. They need all the things. Writers need to know who they are serving and what that act of service is.

Expand full comment

Great point!

Expand full comment
Feb 26·edited Feb 26

"You should query that." So we did. And it led to a wonderful working relationship with our agent, a dream publishing contract with a great editor.

Expand full comment
author

Wooo hoooo!

Expand full comment

Read!

Expand full comment
author

Boom.

Expand full comment

Just finish.

Expand full comment

If the going is tough, keep a minimum goal of one sentence a day, but do it every day.

Expand full comment

Show me, don’t tell me

Expand full comment

Use good verbs

Expand full comment