31 Comments
author

Showering. Driving. Cooking. Anywhere my mind can wander just a bit, but I'm nowhere near my computer.

Expand full comment
author
Feb 19Author

In the garden, walking the dogs, DRIVING (why am I most motivated to write when I physically can't write?), when doing renovations on my house.

Expand full comment
author

These answers are so great. We’re all just living our lives— and thinking about writing!

Expand full comment
author
Feb 19Author

Ok either Sarina or Jess accidentally answered as me (has to be Jess) and … ME TOO. Especially driving. I think great when I’m driving. I turn all the music etc off, and set myself a mental goal to resolve or plan this or that. I love it.

Expand full comment

Coffee shops

Expand full comment

💯 where I get my inspiration too—watching people talking, laughing, working.

Expand full comment

Agreed. People do the strangest things and say the funniest lines. Sometimes I use them. Oooppsss

Expand full comment

In the car. Driving my kids around or waiting for them outside sports lessons. Mum’s life!

Expand full comment

just before i fall asleep!

Expand full comment

4:00 a.m., lying there groggy and drowsy, wishing I could go back to sleep, and WOW, the ideas just flow. Do I keep a notepad next to the bed? No, but much of it resurfaces later in the morning.

Expand full comment

Usually when I'm out walking (I am fortunate to have lovely vistas nearby) and during and after meditating (a daily practice for me).

Expand full comment

A lot of times in the shower, driving or walking.

Expand full comment

In the car. On the sidelines of my kid's sports practice, especially when it's outdoors. Sometimes, walking or running. Sitting in conferences or workshops for my "day job" when my mind wanders.

Expand full comment

Anytime I am doing something where my body is active and brain bumbling along in not quite neutral, or during or just after meditation

Expand full comment

Walking! It's cold where I live, so the crisp air and early morning sun are an inspiring combo.

Expand full comment

Driving and walking. Some of my best thoughts happen right after an intense workout or first thing when I wake up in the morning.

Expand full comment

swimming! i bought a tiny waterproof notebook to keep poolside because i’ve gotten so many inspirations while doing laps….

Expand full comment

While walking my dog. He and I can chatter as we go. Saying it all out loud helps me commit or reject it; there's just something about hearing it rather than letting it stay trapped in my noggin. Bonus: my dog never criticizes my ideas. Ever nose down, he wags his tail and acts like he's not paying attention.

Expand full comment

The shower.

Expand full comment

Walking. Doing the dishes. Creating a collage -- that's particular fertile time...

Expand full comment

On the run! Training for a marathon gives me a lot of opportunity to think. I've stopped mid-run multiple times to write something down so I don't forget.

Expand full comment

In the car. Silence and stoplights work for my brain.

Expand full comment

Shower. Sometimes when I’m stuck I go and take a shower. Which is why it helps to work at home

Expand full comment

Listening to music while soaking in the tub!

Expand full comment

While driving

Expand full comment

Taking a shower. Falling asleep. Middle of the night insomnia. What I need to do is get up and type for a while when I can't get back go sleep. A lot of good ideas "evaporate" when I don't act on them right away during the night.

Expand full comment

I work through a lot while falling asleep, which doesn't help much with the falling asleep part.

Expand full comment

In bed. Dreams are a big source of ideas.

Expand full comment