25 Comments

Sample chapter for book proposal while traveling all week for speaking gigs!

Expand full comment
author

Trying to finish up two projects--edits on one, drafting on the other. I'm **this close** but it's going to be a long week.

Expand full comment

Substack comments....

Expand full comment

I am editing the last chapter of my first novel tomorrow and sending to beta readers at the end of the week. Which means I am bugging out but in a subdued, writerly way.

Expand full comment

I'm writing chapter 36 of my debut novel Catharina and Vermeer (working title). A dark(ish) denouement.

Expand full comment

Fleshing out at least two chapters of a nonfiction book before my first (self-imposed) deadline for a check-in with my editor in two weeks. Also need to finish a draft of a freelance article due to the editor soon.

And yet what do I keep thinking about? An idea for my next Substack newsletter! ;) Well, that and college women's basketball! Go, Hawks!

Expand full comment

After a weekend of reviewing 1904-1922 school board minutes, attendance records, and budgets, I am writing up what the facts are telling me; instead of relying on the local myths about Chief Naymaypoke in 1907 donating or selling his allotment to Warroad, Minnesota, to build a school where Indian children could attend. Not only were Indian children not allowed to attend until the 1920s, their parents were charged tuition. And the "father" of the city and first school superintendent was also the first homesteader to file his claim after having resided on Naymaypoke's land for several years and the 4-acre plot for the school adjacent to "his property." Upending the local origin story of a Minnesota border town!

Expand full comment

A short story that has the objective of making people laugh out loud. I have the ending but nothing else. There is a clown involved.

Expand full comment

Working on posts for my nascent Deus in Fabula substack newsletter (kiranblackwell.substack.com), writing personal invites to that newsletter, and drafting/editing excerpts and story treatments for the parent critique sessions at the One Year Adventure Novel Summer Workshop coming up in June. (OYAN is a high school writing curriculum that I did with my son last year as part of homeschooling. We attended the workshop last year, him as one of 140 teens, me as one of 30 parents with only 5 of us attending as writers ourselves. Had great critique sessions together).

Expand full comment

Trying to finish the first a novella

Expand full comment

Good lord. A bunch of garbage really. Content for my weekly video show, a few radio shows and this ridiculous thing my brother and I are screwing around with about science fiction. I don't know. It's all whatever stuff that really is there to inspire me to write better really. I'm one of those guys who needs to have the pen moving all the time to get it moving later. The in between is what sucks really.

Expand full comment

Last week I finished a short story on vacation. Today I Just drove back from 2.5 week Palm Springs trip (2 day drive) and will repack for a one month trip to Europe. I leave very early on Sunday. I may not get to write much this week but look forward to extended writing time during at least three weeks of the trip I’m taking. I’m working on a romance novel. My new SurfacePro makes it so much easier.

Expand full comment

Next chapter of my nonfiction book, hopefully two chapters. Revising the first three chapters so I can send them to a beta reader.

Expand full comment

Comments on student papers but hoping to get some time to work on an essay or humor piece!

Expand full comment

I’m editing like crazy. Other peoples work and my own.

Expand full comment

Writing a narrative video game that gets more ambitious by the day. Anyone else out there trying this? Would love a friend to co-work with over Zoom or similar.

Expand full comment

the blackness of sorrow and loss and the europhic gift of a true love shared of a lifetime together. It;s not easy but I need to share my words as I need air to love.

Expand full comment

I have a blog post due for my Everyday Health/breast cancer blog. Last week was a b*&ch with "regular" work and I plan to fit in more me-writing this week. Which includes more chapters in my memoir in progress!

Expand full comment

exercises for my personal writing class, revising an essay, maybe a little flash or poetry work if there's time

Expand full comment

I am deep in revisions of my marriage of convenience romance. I'm making a lot of changes (more pining, more antagonist) and its slow going, because when I'm not working on that, I'm planning Literacy Night for my kids' elementary school PTA.

Expand full comment