#AmWriting
#AmWriting
Summoning My Accountability Buddies: Because Sometimes Writers Need Deadlines, ep 360
0:00
-33:17

Summoning My Accountability Buddies: Because Sometimes Writers Need Deadlines, ep 360

Jess calls on Sarina and KJ to help her keep her butt in the chair and her head in the game.

Jess here. As I’ve mentioned in the past, I know how my brain works, which is to say it doesn’t, unless a hard and fast deadline looms large in my calendar. I’ve been known to tell my agent or editor to expect chapters on a given day, or I plan to have a completed book proposal to her by X date three weeks hence, but this spring, I’ve decided to call in my writer reinforcements.

I summoned KJ and Sarina to a study room in the Howe Library in Hanover, NH on a very rainy day in late April because I needed their help. I needed them to hold me to dates and words and pages, and without being prompted, they pulled out their planners and dutifully asked me what dates to circle in brightly colored ink.

I now have deadlines, and actual human beings to bug me about them, for various stages of my novel-in-progress, and I will not - can not - let them down.

This, dear listeners, is what accountability buddies are for.

Come along for the ride and, as a bonus, learn about all kinds of Scrivener tools and tricks I plan to employ along the way.

“The first draft is just you telling yourself the story.” - Terry Pratchett

Links:

Scrivener, in case you are one of the unconverted.

#AmReading

Jess: Sarina Bowen’s Brooklyn Bruisers series (and Jess’ comfort reads)

Underland by Robert Macfarlane

A review of Underland by Robert Macfarlane (by Terry Tempest Williams) in the New York Times.

Sarina: Happy Place by Emily Henry

KJ: The Candid Life of Meena Dave by Namrata Patel

Sarina’s progress trees:

Jess’ Accountability Bunny:

Accountability buddies:

Are you itching for a career change but struggling to figure out that next chapter? By now, you’ve probably heard us talk about book coaching—how much we love being coached, and how much I loved my coach training.  Book coaches help writers bring their dreams to life through support, feedback, project management, and accountability at each step of the book writing and publishing process. 
Author Accelerator’s Book Coach Certification program teaches you the key editorial, project management, organizational, and people skills needed to launch your own thriving book coaching business. To find out if book coaching is the right career for you, Author Accelerator is launching a new 5-day challenge to help you envision your new chapter. In their $99 One-Page Book Coaching Business Plan, you’ll narrow down your business idea, your ideal client, your ideal service, and more. 

Enrollment opens May 15th and runs through the end of the month! Visit bookcoaches.com/podcasts and enter the code PODCAST at checkout to get 50-percent off the One-Page Book Coaching Business Plan Challenge. bookcoaches.com/podcasts 

Do you get KJ’s Box of Chocolates email—for erratic doses of books and enthusiasms? If not - what are you waiting for?

Sign up now

Not subscribed to our shownotes yet? You should be—sometimes we send surprises! And we’d love it if you choose to $$ support the pod.

#AmWriting
#AmWriting
Entertaining, actionable advice on craft, productivity and creativity for writers and journalists in all genres, with hosts Jessica Lahey, KJ Dell'Antonia and Sarina Bowen.